Co-op standouts

Co-op standouts

Cooperative youth are the leaders of tomorrow, and Ohio’s electric cooperatives are proud to help outstanding students further their education. Each of the 24 electric cooperatives in the state held scholarship contests this spring for children of members and selected one overall winner to compete for additional awards from Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives, the statewide cooperative services organization. This year, applicants were invited to submit two essays — one about the cooperative business model and one about making a difference. Independent judges reviewed the entries and awarded the top 10 applicants. Each of the students has an impressive list of academic achievements, volunteer experience, and leadership roles within their communities. Below are just a few highlights of their many accomplishments

Parker Hamilton, Kristen Etzinger, Megan Knicely

First through third place: Parker Hamilton, Kristen Etzinger, and Megan Knicely, respectively

Annie Seboe, Ryanna Tietje, Allison Knapp

1st place, $3,800
Parker Hamilton, representing South Central Power Company

Parker has embraced numerous opportunities to be a leader and a servant in his community, volunteering with his church’s mission team, his local United Way, and Autism Speaks, among other organizations. 

2nd place, $2,800    
Kirsten Etzinger, representing North Central Electric Cooperative

Kirsten has been a longtime active member and competitor within 4-H and her school’s DECA chapter and plans to pursue an education in marketing and management.

3rd place, $2,300
Megan Knicely, representing Guernsey-Muskingum Electric Cooperative

While maintaining an immaculate academic record and impressive list of leadership activities, Megan was also a part of her school’s color guard, winter guard, choir, quiz team, and archery team.

4th place, $2,200
Annie Seboe, representing Holmes-Wayne Electric Cooperative

First in her class and the recipient of a number of academic awards, Annie plans to pursue an education in biology.

5th place, $2,100
Ryanna Tietje, representing Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative 

An athlete, a dedicated student, and a leader in her community, Ryanna is also an entrepreneur, running her own cake and cupcake business.

6th place, $2,000
Allison Knapp, representing Logan County Electric Cooperative  

Allison has served as president of her 4-H club and her school’s chapter of National Honor Society while volunteering to teach and lead children in her community. 

7th place, $1,900
Faith Griffiths, representing Firelands Electric Cooperative

Faith was Firelands’ representative to Youth Tour in 2018, and while in school, she mentored younger students, played in symphonic band, and served in National Honor Society. 

8th place, $1,800
Isabella Saylor, representing Butler Rural Electric Cooperative

Isabella competes in tae kwon do and has participated in seven shows in her school’s drama department. She plans to pursue an education in computer or mechanical engineering.

9th place, $1,700
Hannah Meyer, representing Tricounty Rural Electric Cooperative

Hannah earned superior designations at the district, local, regional, and state science fairs. She was president of National Honor Society and vice president of her class. 

10th place, $1,600
Jenna Brinkman, representing Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative

Jenna plans to pursue an education in journalism at Bowling Green State University and has already completed extensive coursework at BGSU through the College Credit Plus program. 

Additionally, OEC recognized the following honorable mention winners with awards of $1,400 each.

  • Elisabeth Ardrey, Union Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Karlie Blissenbach, Carroll Electric Cooperative 
  • Riley Bunstine, The Energy Cooperative 
  • Samantha Caskey, Buckeye Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Lillian Dowdell, Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative 
  • Morgan Dowler, Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative
  • Emma Eckstein, Midwest Electric
  • Kaylee Ferguson, Adams Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Emma Garee, Consolidated Cooperative 
  • Blake Holthaus, Pioneer Electric Cooperative
  • Kaitlyn Richard, The Frontier Power Company
  • Adrianna Roth, North Western Electric Cooperative 
  • Brock Shellhaas, Darke Rural Electric Cooperative
  • Sydney Westbrook, Washington Electric Cooperative