Children of Members Scholarship Winners

Children of Members Scholarship Winners

Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives awarded 24 scholarships to outstanding high school seniors in its annual Children of Members Scholarship competition. Students from member households representing each of the Ohio-based electric distribution cooperatives competed for $44,200 in scholarships. A panel of independent judges reviewed applications and conducted interviews with the students. 

Sara Newsome

First place: Sara Newsome, South Central Power Company

Ranked first in her class at Hillsboro High School, Sara is accomplished academically and personally. Sara is a member of the National Honor Society and student council, serves the local homeless shelter and humane society, and has earned an Associate of Arts degree. After graduation, Sara plans to study psychology and neuroscience in college with a focus on pre-law. One of her high school instructors commends Sara’s ambition, curiosity, and desire to understand how and why concepts connect.


Owen Van Horn

Second place: Owen Van Horn, Paulding Putnam Electric Cooperative

Owen has ambitions to study physics, astrophysics, and astronomy in college, and has spent his high school career fine-tuning the skills and character traits needed to be successful. Within his community, Owen has served the St. Jude Youth Ministry and St. Vincent de Paul Society, participated on the 4-H Board of Directors and student council, and was active with Emerging Rural Leaders and Saints & Scholars. One of his instructors says, “Owen embodies the values of hard work, integrity, leadership, and scholarship.” 


Carrie Rhoades

Third place: Carrie Rhoades, Darke Rural Electric Cooperative

An agriculturalist at heart, Carrie has been heavily involved in 4-H, FFA, and the Darke County Fair, and plans to follow her passion to college where she will study agricultural communications and agribusiness. During high school, Carrie has excelled in public speaking competitions and advanced English courses. Carrie’s English teacher says, “She is an excellent student with lots of energy and ambition, and I have no doubt that her academic and personal goals will be achieved.”


Other Winners

Ben Olenick
Butler Rural Electric Cooperative

Megan Westbrook
Holmes-Wayne Electric Cooperative

Elyse Wilson
Pioneer Rural Electric Cooperative

Aiden McDougal
North Central Electric Cooperative

Lily James
Mid-Ohio Energy Cooperative

Jessi Cramer
Carroll Electric Cooperative

Bailey Barnette
Buckeye Rural Electric Cooperative

Jared Bradford
Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative

Caridad Dupote-Fosnot
Union Rural Electric Cooperative

Sarah Garretson
Frontier Power Company

Alyssa Heinrichs
Midwest Electric

Cheyenne Hill
Logan County Electric Cooperative

Kaitlyn Mull
The Energy Cooperative

Grace Schroeder
North Western Electric Cooperative

Jack Sears
Consolidated Cooperative

Morgan Shupert
Adams Rural Electric Cooperative

Sheldyn Stewart
Guernsey-Muskingum Electric Cooperative

Mason Stottsberry
Washington Electric Cooperative

Sydney Swisher
Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative

Morgan Welch
Firelands Electric Cooperative

Leah Whitford
Tricounty Rural Electric Cooperative

Congratulations to all participants